A playable character in Genshin Impact starts off with a basic 1-star weapon and must always be equipped with one weapon. There are currently 5 different types of weapons in Genshin Impact. Each of the characters specialize only in one weapon type.

Genshin Impact

Weapon Types

These are the five currently available weapon types:

  • Bow – ranged, charged-shot with elemental damage
  • Catalyst – ranged elemental damage
  • Claymore – melee, slow wielding but powerful
  • Polearm – melee, fast, long forward reach
  • Sword – melee, fast


The highest tier, 5-star weapons can only be obtained through wishes (the Gacha) while some lower-ranked ones can be crafted at blacksmiths.

Weapons can be leveled up with consumption of other weapons or ores.

Weapon Ascensions

Similar to Characters, weapons can be ascended to their next phase once they have reached the maximum level of the each phase (Lvl 20/40/50/60/70/80) . When the weapons are leveled up through ascensions, the Base ATK and the secondary stat will scales with the weapon’s level.

Ascensions of different weapons may require different Weapon Ascension Materials.